2022 03 23

Gifts Sent to 1 Million Children in 11 Countries Owing to 2.6 Billion Charitable Orders

 The Panda Pack Project has seen active participation by 1 million sellers and hundreds of millions of consumers over the past three years. The charitable funds raised through 2.6 billion orders were used to send gifts to 1 million children across 11 countries worldwide, including school supplies, daily necessities and sanitary products.

 

 The China Foundation for Poverty Alleviation (CFPA) published such result on March 22 at a meeting held that marked the third anniversary of the project. In February 2019, the CFPA and the Alibaba Foundation reached a strategic partnership to establish a charity project named "Panda Pack". The project has fostered wide participation by consumers and sellers by raising over RMB 128 million charitable funds through 2.6 billion "Goods for Good" orders.

 

Each "panda pack" is worth RMB 150 and includes 102 items in three categories, namely, school supplies, daily necessities, and sanitary products. Children can use such items in classrooms and take items such as towel, soap, lunch box, and plush toy home.

 

2020年11月,老挝儿童聚集在待发放的“熊猫包裹”附近.jpg


 "Goods for Good", originated from "Goods for Love" in 2006, is Alibaba's unique charity model under which certain amounts of money are donated once transactions are completed. Sellers can set their items as "Goods for Good" in the background and set donation amount for each transaction. After consumers buy "Goods for Good" items and transactions are completed, Alibaba's platform will automatically donate the pre-set amount (e.g., RMB 0.02 for each transaction) to charity organizations and projects specified by sellers. By properly combining charity participation and high-frequency business transactions, this charity model has shown wide participation and sustainability.

 

 This internet-based charity model has attracted many sellers to list their products as "Goods for Good" and numerous consumers to shop on Taobao and Tmall. The funds raised through such orders serve to sponsor the daily operation of over 200 charity institutions and over 2,000 charity projects throughout the year. To ensure each donation from every order is trustworthy and transparent during project implementation, the "Charities on the Chain Project", which is launched by the Alibaba Foundation, leverages the blockchain technology to track how each donation is spent.

 

Children from 11 countries such as Myanmar, Nepal, Ethiopia, Cambodia, Laos, Pakistan, Namibia, Uganda, and Mongolia really love our "panda packs". As children tend to take good care and make best of the packs after receiving them, those packs have exerted positive impacts among local families, schools, and communities.


2019年8月,纳米比亚儿童打开他的熊猫包裹.jpg


Yi Bin is an 11-year-old student of Noriko Elementary School in Cambodia, and his home is less than 200 meters from the school, where he lives with his grandmother. Before Yi Bin entered elementary school, his parents went far away and he has been completely without news of them since then. His grandmother is pushing 60 and makes a living for selling salt, pepper, and Cambodia-produced pepper. Since his childhood, Yi has never had a toy of his own. When he wants to play, he has to visit neighbors' and friends' to play with other children. The mascot doll named "Baobao" in the "panda pack" becomes the very first toy of his own.

 

Lin Yuan, Director of Office of CFPA in Myanmar, says "In a faraway foreign country, any person represents his/her country; a practical and effective charity project is a helping hand that China extends to another country in need."


Amid the global pandemic over the past three years, Alibaba leverages its digital capabilities to raise funds for packs and launches the "Charities on the Chain Project" to track the use of charitable donations. The project has explored a relatively mature and universal mode for Chinese social organizations to offer end-to-end assistance to multiple countries worldwide, in terms of beneficiary country selection, project management, and beneficiary feedback. In addition, this project was awarded by the UN the best case in Global Solicitation on Best Poverty Reduction Practices (Second Call) in 2021.


2019年12月,尼泊尔儿童展示自己的熊猫包裹.jpg


The store of cosmetics brand "umoua" is one of the stores that participated in Alibaba's "Goods for Good" project. Wu Ziyi, a representative of the brand, says that "The company has been offering educational aid to Chinese children, and now children outside China as well. Over the years, our customers and us made 4,068,556 joint donations in Alibaba's "Goods for Good" project. We are pleased to see these little dimes turn into a big fortune and help many people in need."

 

After three years of exploration, the CFPA and the Alibaba Foundation continue to update the model, upgrade the project, and help more children in need in the world. According to statistics in Alibaba Foundation's 2021 annual report, more than 500 million Chinese netizens have placed orders on 2.28 million "Goods for Good" items on Taobao and Tmall in 2021. The charitable donations collected from such orders serve to sponsor 214 charity institutions and 2,450 charity projects. Such donations are substantial help and support for groups, such as left-behind children, women in need, and lonely seniors in and outside China.

2022 03 23

26亿笔善款订单 给11国100万儿童送上“熊猫的礼物”


经过三年的努力,天猫淘宝百万爱心商家、几亿消费者的26亿笔善因购买订单,变成了中国人向全球11个国家、100万儿童送去的“熊猫的礼物”——包括学习、生活、卫生用品的爱心包裹。

 

这是中国扶贫基金会在3月22日举办的国际爱心包裹项目三周年总结会上公布的结果。2019年2月,中国扶贫基金会与阿里公益达成战略合作,成立国际爱心包裹专项,并把这一项目命名为“Panda Pack”,“熊猫包裹”。通过阿里公益宝贝发动消费者和商家广泛参与,最终在26亿笔公益宝贝的消费订单基础上,募集善款超过1.28亿元。

 

据介绍,每份“熊猫的礼物”价值150元,内含学习、生活、卫生3大类共计102件单品,让受益儿童不仅在课堂上使用,还能将包裹内的用品如毛巾、肥皂、饭盒、毛绒玩具带回家里。

 

2019年8月,纳米比亚儿童打开他的熊猫包裹.jpg


公益宝贝是阿里独创的交易捐慈善模式,起源于2006年的“爱心宝贝”。商家可以在后台将商品设置成“公益宝贝”,并为每一笔成交设定捐赠金额,消费者在淘宝购买带有“公益宝贝”标志的商品并成交后,平台会自动按照卖家设置的金额如2分钱一单,捐赠给商家指定的公益组织及公益项目。公益与高频商业交易的有机结合,塑造了这一参与性强、可持续性突出的公益模式。

 

通过“公益宝贝”为主的互联网公益模式,众多商家、消费者在淘宝天猫上的消费,常年支持超过200家公益机构的2000多种优质公益项目运转。为确保每一笔公益宝贝订单产生的捐赠在实际落地中可信透明,阿里公益发起“链上公益计划”通过区块链技术标记捐赠动向,实现每一分钱都可查。

 

包括缅甸、尼泊尔、埃塞俄比亚、柬埔寨、老挝、巴基斯坦、纳米比亚、乌干达、蒙古国等11个受益国儿童非常喜爱“熊猫包裹”。孩子们收到之后往往珍重对待,有效利用,并因此对家庭、学校、社区产生积极影响。


2019年12月,巴基斯坦儿童与家人分享收到包裹后的喜悦.jpg


距离柬埔寨Noriko小学不到200米的地方,是11岁的亦斌和他奶奶相依为命的家。在亦斌还没上小学的时候,父母便远走他乡,从此沓无音讯。奶奶年近花甲,每天在市场上卖食盐、辣椒和柬埔寨特产胡椒为生。从小到大,亦斌从没有过属于自己的玩具,想玩的时候,就要去邻居和朋友家,和别家的孩子一起玩。爱心包裹吉祥物“抱抱”成为他第一个真正属于自己的玩具。

 

中国扶贫基金会缅甸办公室主任林媛表示:“在遥远的他国土地上,一个人就是一个国家的窗口;一个切实有效的公益项目,就像是中国对另一个国家露出的‘微笑’。”


三年间,正逢疫情全球扩散,国际爱心包裹通过阿里的数字能力解决源头筹款问题,以“链上公益计划”跟进善款的实施和落地。项目方从受益国选择、项目管理、受益人反馈等从头到尾的多个环节上,逐渐探索出一条中国社会组织开展国际多国援助的相对成熟和通用的模式,并于2021年获得联合国系统颁发的《“第二届全球减贫案例征集活动”最佳减贫案例》。


2019年12月,尼泊尔儿童展示自己的熊猫包裹.jpg


阿里巴巴“公益宝贝计划”爱心好店,上水和肌品牌代表吴紫怡在分享中说:“公司多年关注教育援助,帮扶国内儿童,现在也开始帮助全球的孩子。这些年,在阿里巴巴公益宝贝计划中,我们的顾客与上水和肌共同捐出4068556笔公益捐款。我们很高兴这些钱点滴成海,帮到了那么多有需要的人。”

 

中国扶贫基金会和阿里巴巴公益将在三年探索之后继续更新模式,升级项目,继续帮助全球更多困境儿童。阿里公益2021年报统计,2021年有超过5亿网友,通过淘宝天猫上228万商家购买公益宝贝,这些消费产生的公益捐赠帮助到了214家公益机构的2450个公益项目,变成了对中国乃至全球留守儿童、困境妇女、孤独老人等群体的实实在在的帮助和支持。